Cardi B- Invasion Of Privacy B+ 88%

Cardi B - Invasion of Privacy.png

I know, I know I ain’t did a review in months chill the fuck out my guy or my boo I told you niggas I’d be back to deliver the goods. But I announced I was gonna fucking do a hot new review. But I had to give this lady a proper introduction. Back in 2014-2015 ish this girl named Cardi B was dropping the funniest Instagram shit ever during this time. Then also, on Love and Hip Hop season premiere she was talking about being a rapper. While DJ Self passed on Cardi for Mariah Lynn god awful rapping ass. It was the biggest fail in a minute. I knew it when she started spitting over that boom bap beat that this chick was already dripping of potential. Fast forward to Gangsta Bitch Vol. 1 where she hit and missed on a lot of songs I wasn’t convinced quite yet. But when Gangsta Bitch Vol. 2 came out I was like she ready and in the summer of 2017 she fucked the summer up with “Bodak Yellow (Money Moves)” her tribute to Kodak Black which he receives writing credit for and money for. And then came the fame, the grammy nods and the Migos. Once Cardi and Offset teamed up they both got better as overall rappers. Now she unleashes a spicy debut “Invasion of Privacy” I skimmed the shit last night and I just got done listening and now I’m ready to give you guys the review.

 
“Get Up 10”

This definitely gives me “Dreams And Nightmares” from a female perspective in a very New York way Cardi talks about her rise from the strip club, to Instagram, to the top of the rap game. Of course every debut gives a rags to riches story. However, Cardi gives her real point of view compared to other rappers who lie.

 
“Drip” (featuring Migos)

Drip is like one of them songs any rapper would love to drop a 16 to it just sounded like so much fucking fun. Like this is just another song you play at the turn up drunk as hell. Takeoff murdered this shit my nigga. One of the rare occasions where I say that. And yes, one of the rare times all 3 Migos shine with dope ass verses. Which is a weird feeling. Cardi is becoming the 4th Migo as we speak they seem like from their interviews a very tight knit bunch.

 
“Bickenhead”

Oh yeah somebody brought back my childhood with this one. Nothing beats the original Project Pat “Chickenhead” but Cardi does what most (not all) female rappers do which is either talking about they pussy or telling another bitch to don’t stop pop that pussy. But this is still a good record.

 
“Bodak Yellow”

I don’t even have to talk about how iconic this record is, B. Grammy nominated, highly celebrated. If you don’t know this song or even if your grandma don’t know it. They are hidden in a dungeon my guy.

 
“Be Careful”

This is reminiscent of one of those 2000’s Kim records you know that she was probably subbing Frank White on. Cardi shows that she’s more than a turn up stripper but a real human being which a lot of artists neglect. But yeah typical Latina attitude during a break up or getting caught cheating feeling ya know?

 
“Best Life” (featuring Chance the Rapper)

This my favorite song on this album my guy. I was shocked but then again both of these niggas were Grammy nominated and both of them have donated to charities and express a wokeness vibe. But the song Wyclef coulda been dope on the hook. Chance and Cardi tussle on here and make a really great song this should be a single in my opinion.

 

 

“I Like It” (with Bad Bunny and J Balvin)

I love the sample they use. One of the better songs of the century I should say but anyway Cardi brings out the Latina side heavy and represents the Bronx to the fullest on here. Meanwhile Bad Bunny and J Balvin two Latino acts that are superstars bring Migos like deliveries on here to try to fit the starting point of Cardi. Solid.

 

 

“Ring” (featuring Kehlani)

Cardi x Kehlani are a match made in heaven. Always said Kehlani makes that thot uplifting music and shit. And Cardi being in the lane she’s in the al a Lil Kim/Foxy Brown lane. It was perfect. This song is dope and Kehlani 9 times out of 10 will deliver a dope hook and verse. Just another one of those you don’t call me no mo songs.

 
“Money Bag”

It wouldn’t shock me if this was a single either. This is catchy as hell and the beat is bananas nearly blew my speakers on my way to work banging this song. Not the dopest record on here but it ain’t wack sauce.

 

“Bartier Cardi” (featuring 21 Savage)

I remember listening to this for the first time and it was hot. And even 21 Savage displays an improvement from pure grotesque to in between mediocre and average as he delivers a dope verse for his caliber MC. Now Cardi flaunts her relationship with Offset and demands that she deserves to reign in this hip hop game.

 
“She Bad” (with YG)

Does Mustard ever stop delivering dope beats I guess not. Cardi and YG with their blood ties combine for a great strip club anthem. I wouldn’t be surprised if AOS is gearing up right now to drop this record. And don’t let it be a video to this oh my god!

 
“Thru Your Phone”

Although this the weakest song on the album. This is also the funniest song on the album. Cardi B goes full Left Eye on here and goes through her nigga phone and puts the side hoe pics up on Instagram and embarrasses her. I would love to see a Waiting To Exhale style video for this. See her busting in the office looking for Offset ass like “I hate you!”.

 

“I Do” (featuring SZA)

All them damn SZA fans gonna be excited as hell for this one. Don’t stone me but this wasn’t as what it’s cracked up to be but still a decent song nonetheless. And it’s good to see SZA having fun instead of talking about broken clocks, self doubt, and how she trades with a nigga every weekend. But a poor choice for a closer.

 

Overall, this is a boom to be reckoned with for a debut. I didn’t expect this kind of versatility from Cardi but from her personality this matches what she is truly capable of. Now is this a classic album. Hell to the naw! Is this a dope ass album hell yeah. Cardi came into the game at the perfect time and now firmly can sit on the throne while Nicki stumbles for a comeback. Honestly it’s best that Nicki joins Cardi than try to beat her you saw what happened when she decided to go at Remy. However, whether Nicki was on top or not it wasn’t gonna stop the people’s champ Cardi from coming and making a lane for the Lil Kim type rappers.

2 thoughts on “Cardi B- Invasion Of Privacy B+ 88%

Leave a comment