DJ Khaled- Grateful B 84%

Grateful by DJ Khaled cover.jpg

In a year where great music rules the universe. DJ Khaled was asking did them Drake vocals come through yet? Leaving the world in anticipation of Grateful his 10th album by the way. Time goes by when you smoking crack. LMAO! But anyways he been teasing this album since Major Key dropped last year. I normally don’t review niggas albums back to back years but I am contradicting myself like shit. Anyway Khaled brings A listers, B listers and terrible butt juice rappers together to produce the album he made for his son Ashad. If you are on Snapchat the boy is gonna be something else when he grows up with a father like Khaled who is showing love to his son. Unconditional love. Although this album got enough bumps like a Midwest ghetto. Let’s get to it.
“(Intro) I’m So Grateful” (featuring Sizzla)”

This shit is a nice way to begin this shit. Sizzla been a solid reggae cat for a minute. This is a dope intro. Nothing much to say on this song.
“Shining” (featuring Beyoncé and Jay Z)

Let me be the first to say this. This song is so overrated and average. I do not like this song that much. I like the beat it sounds like some bullshit they play before they show a basketball game. Or some shit they play at Pac Sun or some wack shit like that. Hova doesn’t disappoint with his verse he still taking shots at Drake smh. I like the 21 Grammys I’m a Savage line. But this shit cornball music. Mad weak for Beyonce caliber she the Queen of England they coulda wrote some better shit for this. PND what is you doing baby! He came up short.
“To the Max” (featuring Drake)

If you thought Shining was garbage shit! This is the epitome of grotesque, garbage, ass hair music. Khaled hyped this bullshit up. Now if he came with another “For Free” I would have been like that lightskinned nigga did it again! But he airballed a 3 with the game on the line with this one. This some knockoff Chicago Juke music that Drake tried to trend hop and failed miserably. Shit is condom wrapper music that should have been swallowed.

 

“Wild Thoughts” (featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller)

We got one here. This shit is incredible. Some would say doing anything Carlos Santana related is blasphemous. But the sample of “Maria, Maria” was served properly. And I fell in love with Rihanna when I saw that video. Her vocals are sensual, sultry and she stays within her vocal range. A+ for her. And that nigga Tiller he never fails with his egotistical bravado. His verse makes this song an A+ overall. This is the song of the summer mark my words.
“I’m the One” (featuring Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper and Lil Wayne)

Why did Khaled think this Sesame Street soft ass carebears ass song was ok. Sure it’s the #1 song in the country only cause of the names but this shit weak sauce son. It’s so boring it sounds like this shit played at Toys R Us or some shit. This shit sounds like these niggas appeared on one of those Say No To Drugs commercials and shit and started busting Conjunction Junction ass shit. Shit garbage as fuck. Quavo tried to make some good of this. Chance airballed on this shit. Bieber tried too hard to be African-American but son stop it. Wayne was wack too. Fuck this song on my dead homies.

 

“On Everything” (featuring Travis Scott, Rick Ross and Big Sean)

Meh, this shit average. Sean verse is the best verse but for Travis Scott to mess this bullshit up is ridiculous. Travis a top 10 rapper that’s popping right now. But he doesn’t do it for me. Rick Ross did ok. But nothing much I can say but average and tolerable.
“It’s Secured” (featuring Nas and Travis Scott)

How many songs is Travis Scott on? Sheesh they fucking or something. SMH! Anyway this hook wack as fuck. Nas accepted this shit? Anyway Nas bodies his verses. He’s the only GOAT out here I wanna check out as far as new music. But good song terrible hook. Nice beat.
“Interlude (Hallelujah)” (performed by Betty Wright)

The OG Betty Wright came to sprinkle that soul onto these muthafuckas. You better sing it! In that order.

 

“Nobody” (featuring Alicia Keys and Nicki Minaj)

I love this record pure boom bap with Alicia vocals you can’t lose even with Nicki Minaj whose performance was emaculate. But I question if she wrote that it sounds like Nasir Jones rhyme scheme. But this song is so short on words on Alicia’s end. Which keeps it from being perfect. But this shit some redemption music to workout to.
“I Love You So Much” (featuring Chance the Rapper)

Is this a prank? Is this a joke? This shit should have been cut. I understand the track is for Chance daughter and Khaled’s son. But this shit hot garbage and the worst song I ever heard Chance participate in. Whose idea was this? Was this a drug high? Acid? Molly? Percocets? I appreciate Khaled for speaking to his son. But let this shit be like a viral skit or some shit. Or at least the outro then I would have accepted this but this is dogshit ass tasting vomit semen squirt juice son. On my mama.
“Don’t Quit” (with Calvin Harris featuring Travis Scott and Jeremih)

This is some funky West Coast vibe shit. I love this song it’s my favorite. Shit make me wanna hit switches in a 64 Impala. Plus I love a beautiful girl to pop that ass on a nigga to this jam. This is a great song. Travis and Jeremih don’t disappoint.
“I Can’t Even Lie” (featuring Future and Nicki Minaj)

This shit is pretty solid. Typical Future song. Nicki kills her verse. Enough said. Idk Nicki hanging with Nas must have improved her wordplay it seems like she’s recovered from Remy Ma’s Timberland trampling well.
“Down for Life” (featuring PartyNextDoor, Future, Travis Scott, Rick Ross and Kodak Black)

This shit is cool. Kodak doesn’t fuck up I’m proud of this damn immune disease ass rapper. PND does good. But this shit just another album filler average ass song. I’m guessing this another ride or die chick song or some shit like that.

 

“Major Bag Alert” (featuring Migos)

This is another one of those typical Migos songs. This shit nice though. Make you bounce your arms and do the Rae Sremmurd dance. But this is a party track nothing more. I like it.

 

“Good Man” (featuring Pusha T and Jadakiss)

Do you expect two top 10 rappers when they are active to fuck up. Fuck no. Just forget it. These two if not for Rae and Joey Crack wipe every song off this goddamn album minus Tiller and Riri. Pusha bodies it and Jada cremates this shit. Shout out to my OGs in this game. “Getting work from Detroit like a Piston” WHOO RIC FLAIR.
“Billy Ocean” (featuring Fat Joe and Raekwon)

Everybody rapped off this Jay-Z, “A Week Ago” beat son. But these two OG’s did it the best. Joey and Rae both had comeback resurgences in 2017. They been in this game for 2 decades and to still have bars and lines that make you develop goosebumps. It’s appreciated.

 

“Pull a Caper” (featuring Kodak Black, Gucci Mane and Rick Ross)

I just wanna throw Kodak Black through a fucking wall for messing up this song. Guwop and Ross killed this song and Kodak hook is awful and decrepit. But Gucci verse was tough and Ross falls in line like he’s been doing all album.

 

“That Range Rover Came with Steps” (featuring Future and Yo Gotti)

This shit kinda average and should have just been Gotti song to be honest. I don’t hate it and I ain’t mad at it this is dope. Future killed it and Gotti does decent.

 

“Iced Out My Arms” (featuring Future, Migos, 21 Savage and T.I.)

This is the most ignorant shit I ever heard in my life and I love it! This shit makes you wanna pop bottles in a club and wanna dab til your fucking arm breaks. Migos all murk this shit, Future kilt the hook. 21 Savage verse was the best one to me. Tip the OG keeps up with these young ATLiens. Showing he still got a bit left in the tank. This beat is so dope that these niggas Metro and Southside need to be arrested for 1st degree murder.

 

“Whatever” (featuring Future, Young Thug, Rick Ross and 2 Chainz)

If not for 2 Chainz this shit would have been average. I’m not too fond of Young Thug. It’s too much fricking Autotune on here dude. Ross meh not impressed.
“Interlude” (performed by Belly)

This shit is dope. Although this nigga Belly from Toronto he is an above average MC that deserves a look. He does pretty good on here. This seems like more his lane to me. The boy spitting on here.
“Unchanging Love” (performed by Mavado)

This is probably the most complete song on here. Mavado always brings it on Khaled albums he seems like the Jay Electronica of the Reggae community once a year he brings his great presence on Khaled albums and flames it out. This is a great love song and just makes yo smile.

I told you this album had more bumps than a ghetto block in Detroit. But however this album wasn’t too bad it had its misssteps. But tracks with Alicia and Nicki, Bryson and RiRi, Jada and Push, Rae and Joey Crack, and Migos keep this album alive as decent but this is in the middle of Khaled’s discography. Too much filler, need more iller 23 songs is too fucking much if it’s not as good as advertised. Did them Drake vocals come through. YES AND THEY SUCKED! But overall, this album is decent but nothing to put near any album of the year considerations.

 

PS: By the way USA today calls this album 90 minutes of pain! LMAO! I’m dead.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “DJ Khaled- Grateful B 84%

Leave a comment